Senate Judiciary Committee Approves COICA Censorship Bill

We are one step closer to emulating the censorship of China and other authoritarian regimes.

The Senate Judiciary Committee unanimously approved the Combating Online Infringements and Counterfeits Act (COICA) this morning.  The following senators voted for it, many by proxy:

  • Patrick J. Leahy — Vermont
  • Herb Kohl — Wisconsin
  • Jeff Sessions — Alabama
  • Dianne Feinstein — California
  • Orrin G. Hatch — Utah
  • Russ Feingold — Wisconsin
  • Chuck Grassley — Iowa
  • Arlen Specter — Pennsylvania
  • Jon Kyl — Arizona
  • Chuck Schumer — New York
  • Lindsey Graham — South Carolina
  • Dick Durbin — Illinois
  • John Cornyn — Texas
  • Benjamin L. Cardin — Maryland
  • Tom Coburn — Oklahoma
  • Sheldon Whitehouse — Rhode Island
  • Amy Klobuchar — Minnesota
  • Al Franken — Minnesota
  • Chris Coons — Delaware

Whether the Senate or even the House of Representatives approves it, especially in this lame duck session, is an open question.  But while we fight to kill COICA, we should never forget the Senators who voted to impose censorship on the internet.

Thanks to Tech Dirt for the list.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.

1 comment on “Senate Judiciary Committee Approves COICA Censorship Bill